Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to recent studies, the tendency to commit criminal activities is less common among people who have tertiary educational qualifications. Thus, many people believe that educating criminals during their imprisonment is an effective way to bring down the crime rates. I completely agree with this statement as I understand that education can make a positive change in a person’s behaviour and actions. To begin with, it is true that people engage in crimes due to a variety of reasons like lack of education, unemployment, and financial crisis. To be precise, education is the basis to achieve a better living standard with A good job and financial stability. If people are not educated, people will be unable to find employment, consequently, people end up in attempting crimes like theft and murder to get money. Therefore, education is more than important to form socially responsible citizens and to reduce unemployment, financial crisis, thereby crimes in the society. Another point to consider is that there are a lot of prisons around the world teaching educational lessons to criminals. Although making changes in a person’s criminal behaviour is a complex and time-consuming process, education can teach new skills and knowledge and bring motivation and confidence among criminals to live a better life in society. In addition, if criminals could pursue some qualifications while they are in prison, it will be beneficial for them to achieve employment after their imprisonment. As a result, crime rates can be reduced in the long term, with additional merits to society like growth in educational, employment and living standard percentages. To conclude, I would restate my agreement towards the notion because, undoubtedly, provision of education in prisons is certainly promising to reduce crimes in the society by making a positive change in criminal behaviour.