The internet has become profoundly efficient and popular that people choose it as a platform to learn. Some believe that it would eventually replace the need for books. Do you agree or disagree?

The use of the internet has risen drastically since it first became available to the public. People are nowadays going online for multiple reasons, one of which is searching for knowledge. It is agreed that, because of this, the need for hard copies of books will soon diminish. I will examine this statement by looking at the practical benefits and the possibilities that come with using the web as a learning tool. To begin with, the average modern person can access needed information online far more easily than through a book. A great example is the fact that every individual that owns a smartphone automatically has access to a browser, and therefore can instantly use Google to find multiple resources of material, for almost any subject. Looking for the same data in printed material would require far more time and effort. This leads to a user often rejecting books for getting what they need and go for online sources instead. Another important factor to consider is the great variety of learning options that are offered online. A student, for instance, who wishes to study a particular subject through the internet, can choose between seminars, videos, audio recordings, interactive tests and even educational games. These options are usually more fun than the classic textbook study template, and also allow students to adapt their learning process to their own preferences and needs. Coursebooks lack this flexibility, so they are an inferior option compared to online tools. Overall, the internet can offer many different learning ways, quickly and easily to a great variety of individuals. That is why, when it comes to learning it is very likely that books will eventually stop being necessary. In my opinion that the digitalisation of our era will not completely vanish books, but it will definitely make them less popular,particularly for learners.