Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is true that the economic prosperity that humans have enjoyed in recent history has come at the expense of wildlife. Because of this, the conservation of wild animals has always become a topic of public interest. However, some people argue that time and funding allocated to this well-intentioned enterprise are verging on excess and that these resources should be diverted to projects that directly benefit to the human population. While this thinking is somewhat justifiable, I would contend that it is in the interests of humankind to put more effort into protecting wild animals. It is understandable why some people think that too much time and money are currently being spent on wildlife conservation. Advocates may argue that there are more pressing issues that need addressing than protecting wild animals. For example, nations, where unemployment and poverty are rife, are in dire need of funding to remedy such problems and raise living standards. Compared to these urgent needs, combatting the extinction of some wild animals does seem like an unworthy cause. However, notwithstanding the fact that there are more crucial areas for countries to pay attention to, I believe that it would be unwise to ignore the unshaken importance of wildlife preservation. In fact, humans have an inextricable relationship with wildlife, which means that the extinction of a wild animal could seriously threaten the survival of mankind. The African rhino is a telling example. Their grazing helps sustain the grasslands on which countless other species depend, and thus maintains the ecological balance. Therefore, the decline in the rhino population could spell trouble for African savannas and ultimately the local communities. This is a testament to how spending on the protection of wild animals is also synonymous with the existence of humans. In conclusion, while it seems that time and budget are misspent on saving wild animals, I would argue that it is actually of great importance to the survival of human beings.