Many people think that it is unnecessary to teach children handwriting skills in this technology age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that handwriting is totally needless for children in this digital era. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because learning how to write properly can offer children inherent advantages in developing some crucial skills and concentration at an early age. The primary reason to advocate the teaching of handwriting is that writing physically can assist children's early physical and cognitive development. This is because unlike digital writing which requires little motion from the fingertips to touch the screen or type in the keyboards, handwriting skills demand more proper efforts from the child to grasp the writing tool correctly as well as manipulate it in the right direction with great attention which altogether results in a better hand-eye coordination. According to scientists, these fine motor skills are crucial to the development of the child's physcial and cognitive skills later on. For example, in most Vietnamese kindergartens, handwriting is a compulsory lesson at school and it is noticed that children who frequently practice writing by hands usually outperform their peers in handicraft activities which requires good motor skills from hands and eyes. Another reason why children should be taught handwriting skills is this might foster better concentration. It is undeniable that digital writing tools may be more versatile in the way that children can switch among a variety of applications while writing, however, it often leads to great distraction and hinders the child's actual acquistion progress. On the other hand, sitting properly to write can do a better job in promoting children's attention span which will benefit them a lot in other school subjects when they grow up. For instance, educational studies report that early exposure to digital devices do worsen the situation of ADHD children and writing physcially is a both an alternative and a therapy to help them better concentrate at school. They distribute some writing tasks, scaling from easy to more difficult and gradually extending the time limit so as to keep these children at place totally focusing on their assignments. In conclusion, while handwriting is thought to be redundant in this technology era, I strongly believe it offer a lot of benefits to children's vital skills and their concentration.