Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what step can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

In the last few decades, advancement in technology and medical sciences has helped to increase human life span greatly. Early detection and treatment of diseases, together with general population's awareness of illnesses have helped many enjoy much better health and lives, especially in the elderly group. This is a positive change that can bring many positive impacts to our society and nation as a whole. In this essay, I will elaborate further on how senior members benefit us all. First of all, they are wises and more experienced and can guide the younger generations in many areas, such as at the workplace and at home. They accumulated vast experiences with their age, and their wisdom in handling difficult situations should be highly sought after. For example, the senior members of a company know about every detail and history of the company since the very first day of its establishment, and they will be of great aid to the younger ones who might struggle to find ways to improve the company. In another situation, grandparents who have survived many hardships in their lives can share their experiences and wisdom with their children and grandchildren, to provide them with support in difficult times. The government should encourage the elderly group to be active socially and physically and provide them with opportunities to work, so they do not feel left out. A lot of them find pride as they can continue to contribute to the country's workforce and development. They should be offered part-time jobs if preferred, as an active body and sound mind can help them to live happily for many more years to come. The Singapore government has done exemplary work in this field, as a study found that they have a lesser number of elderly people who are depressed or find their lives meaningless after retiring age. In conclusion, the ageing population is surging thanks to the great development in technology. We can make full use of this situation, by encouraging the seniors to contribute actively to the local community by sharing their precious experience and knowledge. They should be offered to participate in the workplace, as this not only will improve a country's productivity but also help them to live a more meaningful and fulfilled life lifein