In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them with the same style as the old house style in local areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There have been arguments about house -building policy. Some people believe that they have the right to choose their own house style based on their personal taste instead of building it exactly the same as the old ones, in fact, I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I will illustrate my point of view and support it with examples as well. First of all, it is a known fact that building houses cost a fortune. However, having your own thoughts and perspective done to your own house could possibly be a wonderful opportunity to be creative. Nonetheless, your house should be a reflection of your character and personality, for instance, whenever someone walks by the neighbourhood, they can tell who is the person that lives inside that building. Thus, if you do not consider yourself an innovative thinker, and do not have a background in house design you should at least contact the architect you are working with, and give him some recommendations and suggestions as well. It can possibly be hard and overwhelming for the architect to work with people who are clueless about choosing their house design. They are the ones who will be living in that house, they totally have the right to construct it according to their needs. Hence, in conclusion, I believe that the house members are supposed to be the ones who make the construction decisions, based on their opinion, not copying the style of the old houses near their local area.