In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is irrefutable to say that knowledge is power and that one must be aware of all the happenings in today's world. However, in many nations, children do not watch the news or read the newspapers. This essay details the causes and a few solutions in the following paragraphs. To begin with, children these days are accustomed to instant gratification, with the popularity of video games and Instagram likes, they often do not find it engaging enough to read an article. Furthermore, news that is aired on television today is not appropriate for young kids to watch as it has too much of gory details. Moreover, many young people who have special needs are unable to use the existing media as it does not suit their accessibility needs. To exemplify further, a child with ADHD would find it extremely difficult to read a newspaper that has so much text cramped into one single page. There are a number of steps that one could take to encourage students to read articles and follow the news. Newspaper companies could begin by creating a new format for their readers who have accessibility issues; this would not only improve their brand image but would also increase their customer base and their sales. Additionally, entertainment channels for children could allocate an hour for news time, in this way, children would get the best of both worlds. To illustrate further, a study conducted by Mumbai University found that children between the ages of 5 to 12 years were more likely to watch a show aired on Cartoon Network rather than any other channel. In a nutshell, knowing what is happening in and around the world today is pivotal. In my opinion, we can instil interest among young people by educating them on the benefits of being aware. Businesses could also start by following some of the suggestions mentioned above.