With recent improvements online, it is increasingly possible for people to leave reviews for goods and services they have purchased. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

As a part of the recent improvement of e-commerce websites, it now allows consumers to share their experience on either services or products publically. In this essay I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of allowing consumers to share their review openly. Firstly, one of the main advantages of having online reviews is that it can help the company to promote their products and services. However, people may have different concerns and from reading other’s reviews it can provide them validation on making the purchase. For example, people often share photos of the goods that they have purchased. Having photos of the actual product assures others on the product matching the description and this is also a great advertisement for the business. On the other hand, people have different standards and values that they look for in making a purchase. Having online reviews can set the wrong expectations for some people, because they may not have the same values. For example, the review for a restaurant called “Happy Days” had mentioned that it offers a generous portion for their fried rice. However, the judgement of portion size varies based on an individual's appetites. In addition, it is hard to believe whether the review is real or not and some reviews may involve inappropriate contents. To sum up, online review is a great way to help promote a business and provide validation and assurance to customers for future purchases. Moreover, reading online reviews could lead to a misconception of the goods or services due to an individual’s standards.