Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Different aspects of human behaviour have been studied from centuries and the studies demonstrate that the innate traits of human beings have so much effect on their character and growth as compared to the postnatal experiences they have in life. The arguments will be presented in the favour of both sides of the opinion before I give my own viewpoint. On the one hand, firstly, the birth characteristics describe a person, the temperament, preferences, mood swings, and eating habits all are controlled by the instinctive features he acquires so, they play a crucial role in an individual's life. Secondly, some of these traits will be inherited from the parents which mean these are genetic attributes and could be improved but cannot be altered, for example, a child inherited a certain skin disease from his father and it is in his genes so, it cannot be cured completely but its intensity could be reduced over time. Consequently, the experiences of people are basically the life lessons from which they learn a lot, because humans evolve their lifestyle from the events they encounter and some could have an everlasting effect on their personalities. Moreover, from the experiences, an individual develops a plethora of adaptive skills like teamwork, honesty, and integrity and some are life-saving for him. For instance, a student learns to compete with other fellow students by living in the classroom environment, even preschoolers are taught how to interact with others in their schools. In conclusion, it will not be gainsaid that there are valid arguments on both sides of the view, however, I believe that the inbred features of a person play a more significant role in their development process.