In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. why is this? Do you think it is positive or negative development?

Advertising is an important part of businesses. It helps to increase the sales of the products and also to raise awareness regarding the products. Therefore, businesses give a lot of thought and spend a fortune in their advertisements. In recent days, many products that are being advertised, usually highlight on their new changes or improvements. for an example, advertisements on skin care products tend to highlight on the changes in scent, color, packaging or addition of a new ingredient. the possible reason for this emphasize on a new change could be that people expect the product to be more appealing or expect it to work better than earlier product. And most of the people like to go for a new experience as it could be more exciting than the older one. In addition, research may have shown that emphasizing a new change increases the sales of a certain product. Advertising is a competitive field. Each business tries to improve their advertising to have a better sale than their competitors. Therefore, I think that in a consumer's point of view, it is a positive development to advertise the products with new changes. Because, by trying to make changes, the producers always experiment to make their products better. They will try to improve the quality, the presentation and the ingredients in the products. Due to this reason, the experience the consumer will receive will be enhanced. There can be negative impact for this strategy too. People who are happy and comfortable with the current product might refuse to buy the newer one. And by frequent changes, a product may actually lose its uniqueness when compared with the others. When considering all, it is in my opinion that advertising a product as a newer version has more benefits to the business and to the consumer both.