In some cultures, childrens are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

For someone to achieve their goals in life, there should be passion, motivation, commitment and hard work. If all these are not there, it will be difficult to achieve anything. In some cultures, children are told to work hard to get to their goals. This has both advantages and disadvantages as discussed below. There are several advantages of asking kids to try hard enough to achieve something. One is that continuous encouragement will help the little ones to get to their hurdles. Also come on we all know that if we work hard on something we actually can do a better job. In addition, when this method is successful once, the child will do it again to reach his other goals. However, there are disadvantages for this too. for an instance, if the child was asked to try something that he does not have any interest in, it will put an unnecessary pressure on the child. And they will be worrying about the possibility of failing and disappointing their parents. Because of this, children even can get psychological problems. This is a common scenario in Sri Lanka, where kids are forced to study and get through exams from a very young age. Unfortunately, this has a very bad impact on a child's physical and mental health. Therefore, in conclusion, I think asking children to work hard to achieve their goals has more negative effects than positive ones.