The average standard of people’s health is likely to be lower in the future than it now. What extend do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, in future, humans will be less healthy than they are today. I agree with this argument to a great extent. Health depends on a variety of factors like regular physical activity, nutritious food and freedom from stress. Unfortunately, today people lead a sedentary life and suffer from high levels of stress. Physical activity is essential for good health. Unfortunately, modern amenities have practically eliminated it from our lives. In the kitchen there are appliances to perform every activity from chopping vegetables to grinding grains. People no longer take stairs or walk. They use the elevator and drive their car even to cover short distances. In office too, they have desk jobs that do not require them to flex their muscle. And after office hours, when they reach home, they sit in front of their television or computer and consume pre-cooked package meals high in calories, preservatives and additives while staring at the screen. Needless to say, people are developing lifestyle ailments like blood pressure, diabetes, cancer and heart disease even in their twenties and thirties. Pollution is another factor affecting our health. The air we breathe and the water we drink are both polluted and cause various health problems. The food we eat is laced with pesticides and our lives and work are highly stressful too. It is a race to reach the top and most people do not have time to pause and take stock of the damage there are doing to their body. So, while medical facilities have improved over the years, the standard of people ’s health has deteriorated. To conclude, while it is true that medical science has advanced by leaps and bounds, the average standard of people ’s health is declining due to a variety of factors like the sedentary lifestyle, pollution and high levels of stress.