Fossil fuel (e.g. coal, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

As the demand for energy worldwide has increased, fossil fuel such as coal, oil and natural gas has become the main source of energy for most developing countries. The growth of exploitation of these natural resources has led to many kinds of environmental issues such as global warming and climate change. Using alternative sources such as solar or wind energy should be encouraged because of their potential benefits. I firmly support this idea for many reasons which will be addressed in this essay. To begin with, it is clear that fossil fuels, especially coal and oil are now depleting. While alternative sources which are abundant and renewable can assure stability and availability in years to come and can bring many benefits as well. For example, the utilization of solar and wind energy can assist nations, especially those whose archipelagos are bounded by seas and mountains. With the use of this abundant power source, it can help the government save and allocate its budget to other means and put a stop to fossil fuel dependence. Furthermore, alternative energy can reduce if not eliminate its negative effects on the environment. Carbon dioxide emissions brought about by the burning of fossil fuels can be eliminated. For instance, electric vehicles are using solar battery cells which are more environment-friendly and cost-efficient. Replacing fossil fuels with renewable alternative sources can pave the way for the goal of reducing the effects of climate change. In conclusion, alternative resources can bring huge benefits to people's lives. Thus, it is the best replacement to be considered if we are to continue to live on this planet we are on.