Fossil fuel (e.g. coal, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

Despite the fact that fossil fuel is still mainly consumed by a majority of nations nowadays as a critical source of energy, some countries start to promote alternative energies in order to protect the environment and advance humans. I consider this mainly positive as the study of other forms of energy helps protect the environment and promotes worldwide peace among numerous countries. Admittedly, the advancement in energy alternatives could be quite costly, requiring a large amount of capital and human resources for scientific research. Governments with tight budgets that try to simultaneously fund several social welfare programs may/might find it challenging to absorb this additional cost. Besides, it is hard to estimate the payback period for developing “green energy ”, as no one knows exactly how long it will take for engineers to come up with feasible ways to utilize clean energy, such as wind and solar on a large scale. However, the use of alternative energy plays a vital role in preserving natural resources and protecting the environment. As we all know, fossil fuels, for instance, coal and oil, are often non-renewable and the excessive exploitation of fuel resources has led to serious consequences on the local environment. For example, countless forests have been removed by greedy merchants in order to drill for oil, making the issue of global warming even worse in the long run. Humans are making their first efforts to develop environmentally acceptable solutions to the energy crisis by researching substitutes for reusable energy. Furthermore, pursuing “green energy ” can greatly promote worldwide peace, as fossil fuel will no longer serve as the single source of power that every country aggressively competes for. We can certainly expect that if every nation is capable of supplying itself with sufficient, renewable sources of power, there will be significantly fewer intentions for wars. In conclusion, while the bill for developing alternative sources of power might be quite high, I still insist that it will be beneficial not only to the environment but also to global peace.