Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that circumstances of individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should be taken into account when deciding on the punishment

Nowadays, crime rates are increasing at an alarming rate. So, it is essential to punish culprits to maintain law and order in society. According to my point of view, before taking any verdict it is also very important to consider the circumtances and motivation of crime. Intially, punishments are already set in law-books for different crimes. Judges are just verify the circumtances and motivation of the offence. If the two people commited commit the same crime but they had different intentions then it is injustice to give them same punishment. For example, two people charged for murder but their intentions were totally different. One acted with the intention of killing another person while second person commited commits commuted the offence accidently in self-defense. Secondly, if judges announce punishments without considering intention and circumtances then this lead the insecurity among people. They will feel helpless. For intance, if a thief is snatching something from any individual then he/she will be afraid to counterattack to save himself/herself because of the same fixed punishment. On the other hand, some people oppose this point of view. According to them, it is the one of the reasons of growing crime rate. Because all culprits have the right to save themself from punishment. This is giving them a chance to create circumtances in their favore, because they knew that this thing can help them to escape from courts. In conclusion, it is very necessary to give hard punishments to set an example in society to get rid from crime, but as well as judiciary also need to consider the circumtances and motivation of crime before taking any verdict.