SOME PEOPLE FEEL THAT THERE SHOUD BE A FIXED PUNISHMENT FOR EACH TYPE OF CRIME. OTHERS FOT THAT THE CIRUMSTANCES OF AN OFFENCE SHOULD BE TAKEN IN TO ACCOUNT WHEN DECIDING ON A PUNISHMENT. DISCUSS BOTHE SIDES AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

We are living in a society ruled by law where people believe that they should have punishment according to their crimes. However, it seems that people have different views on the level of penalties, as some argue that everyone should have the same level of discipline whereas others hold views that it should be varied depending on their offences. This essay will explore both ideas and I will elucidate my opinion. First off, some might think that even if unconscious swearing could be a fatal impact on others, we might consider this should be treated as equal to a serious crime. For example, many studies have revealed that we suffer from several mental pain, aftermaths, or even trauma when we experience minor abusive language. In particular, it can cause irreversible cognitive impairment in young people. To prevent this kind of catastrophic result, we could apply the same punishment to everyone even for tiny misdemeanours. On the other hand, it is a process of achieving justice that the culprit has a price corresponding to the crime he/she committed. For instance, if we violate traffic rules, we have to pay a fine. However, if we murder someone, we should have a death penalty and life imprisonment. This is the reason why we are under the influence of law and the law should be fair to everyone. To sum up, there should be a variety of ideas on how we penalize these sinners, but I firmly support that the punishment should be differentiated on the degrees of criminals. We have to keep in mind that if we do not apply laws strictly, our society will be chaotic by potential criminals.