In many societies, there is less social contact between the elderly and the young. What are the reasons and what measures can be taken?

Nowadays, there is less communication between the elderly and the young. Therefore is important to analyse what are the reasons for this and how to fix this problem. First, this essay will explain the reason for less social contact,which is due to the rapid growth of technology and then, about the measures that should be taken by social workers, authorities and parents to address this problem. Firstly, the world we live in is a technology-dominated world. Back in the olden days, when there were no smartphones, people used to talk face-to-face and were social butterflies. But now, with the development of social media platforms like Instagram, Facebook and Snapchat, the younger generation is more accustomed to socialising with their peers and close family members online. As a result, the older generation who do not know how to use a phone has a hard time connecting with their grandchildren. Therefore leading to a huge gap between the elderly and the young. However, this gap between the two generations can be fixed if the following procedures are taken. Here, the social workers can organise events and encourage families to participate. Therefore, through these,events the older generation may be able to bond with younger ones on a deeper emotional level. Further, government authorities can hold workshops and campaigns to teach the older crowd to use a smartphone to communicate with their loved ones. Moreover, the parents can limit their kid's screen time and encourage them to go on a walk with their grandfather or do grocery shopping with their grandmother. As a result, such activities will reduce the gap between them, and bring them close together. In conclusion, the reason for this communication barrier is due to the use of technology, but this can be solved through activities and events organised by social workers, authorities and parents.