Question- Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is stated that quite a number of museums are charging a sum for admitting visitors, while there are many others who do not charge. There could be various reasons pertaining to that however, there could be certain merits and demerits that we shall discuss in this essay. To begin with, the advantages of charging folks for entry into the building could be many; firstly, this could help the management to generate revenue, further utilize this for the maintenance of the facility. Take for instance, there are many buildings which are quite old, and even though they receive funds from the government that sum might not be sufficient. Timely changes or renovations should be done in order to maintain the elegance and structure of these historical places. Secondly this money could be utilized to add new pieces to the collection and finally, admission fees can be used to develop certain facilities within the museum that can attract more people such as shows, plays, and other recreational activities. Hence it is quite essential to generate some income in order to protect our heritage. Moreover, this current trend has its own disadvantages on equal par. Visitors might not be interested in visiting, as there are places which they can visit for free. In other words, people might as well think that this is some kind of money-making strategy. This could further lead to a downfall in the number of tourists, a decrease in the number of managing staff and eventually, the foundation can be shelved For example, there was a recent show on tv where they showed the collapsed structures due to lack of maintenance and tourists. However, these can be tackled effectively by subsidizing the charges to a certain group of people such as seniors, students etcetera. To sum up, taking into consideration, both the pros and cons not undermining the disadvantages of this trend I do strongly opine that the advantages fairly outstrip the disadvantages for the above-stated reasons and measures can be implemented such as granting discounts to children, youth, etc in this way both the issues might be tackled effectively.