Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a work place every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the hit of the Covid-19 pandemic globally a few years back, working from home has become very popular. Some people think that it is a positive change, but others consider it to bring more drawbacks. In my opinion, working distantly bring more benefits to individuals, companies and the environment as well. First of all, it gives employees flexibility in time, which is especially valuable if the company is dealing with another country in a different time zone. Furthermore, it allows workers to work at their own pace, as long as they finish their tasks on time. It is very important for those who have to juggle between work and other commitments such as sending children to school or picking them up. Moreover, without close monitoring from direct superiors, it gives workers some autonomy and trust between co-workers is deepened. On the other hand, working remotely helps to save time for travelling from home to the workplace. This alone not only reduces the stress from heavy traffic or bad weather but also generates more quality time to be spent with loved ones. Another useful aspect is that it contributes positively to the environment as fewer greenhouse gases, for example, carbon dioxide is produced when people stay at home. The cost of commuting, for instance, car fuel, train and bus tickets, can be saved and used in other ways to improve the household too. In summary, working remotely brings more benefits than drawbacks to everyone, as it allows us to work at our own pace, be more independent and save time and money. However, we need to have discipline and maturity to practise it so that flexibility and trust will not be abused.