In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Youngsters in some societies give a chance by education systems to have a job or go abroad before starting study at universities. Although this idea has some benefits. I believe the drawbacks are greater. On the one hand, teenagers can get numerous knowledge and experiences by traveling and working. At first, by working, youth learn many ideas about different professions. This information could help them to choose the future study field in the university based on their experiences. In addition, going abroad gives them a chance to improve their vision of the world. For example, they get to know a new culture, make new friends, and learn a new language. On the other hand, this trend made several negative points. Firstly, a gap between studies can cause some major courses to be forgotten. For instance, students which study science fields like physics or mathematics after a year without practice and reviewing their lessons may face to the problems with their new courses in university. Moreover, being far from home could cause some emotional issues for young generations, especially those with more dependency on their family. In conclusion, some positive effects include improving experiences and gaining new data by having a gap year for students before entering university. However, the drawbacks of this trend outweigh for the youth.