In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Youngsters in some societies give a chance by education systems to have an occupation or go abroad before starting to study at universities. Although this idea has some benefits such as gaining more knowledge and skills. I believe the drawbacks are greater in comparison to the advantages. On the one hand, teenagers can get numerous knowledge and experiences by travelling and working. At first, youth learn many ideas about different professions by working. This information could help them to choose the future study field in the university, based on their experiences. In addition, going abroad gives them a chance to improve their vision of the world. For example, they get to know a new culture, make new friends, and learn a new language. On the other hand, this trend makes several negative points. Firstly, a gap between studies can cause some major courses to be forgotten. For instance, students which study science fields like physics or mathematics after a year without enough practice and reviewing their lessons may face problems with their new university courses. Moreover, being far from home could cause some emotional issues for young generations, especially those with more dependency on their family. In conclusion, some positive effects of the one-year gap period include improving experiences and gaining new data for students before entering university. However, the drawbacks of this trend for youth are more than the advantages.