Write about the following topic. Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

As the world is developing with technology in every field, today we can see a plethora of individuals' lives have changed and they completely depend on technological devices. The usage of technology in the home, work, and leisure activities bring numerous advantages as well as disadvantages. The following essay will elaborate further on whether the positives outweigh the negatives of information technology. Commencing, it is true today that humans cannot live without technology since it has been an addiction. Besides, comparing the early years and today, we can see the world is running smoothly, and with the advancement of telecommunications devices, the work is done effectively and efficiently. Considering the first point, IT has brought faster and easier communication among people. As an example, we can talk to people from one end of the world to the other with the usage of the internet and modern devices which makes families closer, business, education, etc much easier than before. Secondly, information technology has developed new and innovative approaches such as online games, business video conferencing tools, stock management systems, and new sales avenues. Moreover, the domination of IT in people's activities has benefited to a greater extent. On the other hand, there are some demerits of information technology. Some of the devices can go down or have faults that can stop all business operations. To exemplify, if malware occurs in a bank system the whole process of banking will go down with the reputation and many lives of people will be in danger since the personal details and money is stored in the bank. Furthermore, it is significant that the human workforce will be reduced and the jobs of people will be at a risk with the advent of new technologies such as robots. However, if the right procedures are implemented the negatives of IT can be overcome. In conclusion, the benefits of information technology and the changes that it has done for humans have been impacted positively where the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.