Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age group. However, sharing pereonal information on social media websites does have risks. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, social media platforms play a huge part in our lives. It is literally almost impossible to find a person who does not have at least one social media. These online platforms provide the ability to be in touch with our friends and families and learn their personal news faster than ever before. However, this benefit has a negative side which is making too much personal information available to others. I do believe it can be dangerous and people should try to minimize their activity on social media. A fairly innocent photo of a person's house posted a while back with a newly uploaded picture from a luxury resort located on a different part of the planet is a perfect gift for burglars who can figure out the location and use the opportunity to rob a house. Another potential gift can be publicly sharing pictures wearing expensive jewelry or watches which criminals can use to mug a person. Many people would agree that increased risk towards themselves is not worth all the benefits social media could provide. The potential workaround would be to fine-tune privacy settings to share such private information only with close people. However, it is not always enough, and let me explain why. Limiting public access to private information for all other regular people is great although some federal structures may still have access to it. It should not be a problem in many cases unless you live in a dictatorship country where people can be sent to jail based on their political views. For instance, there were numerous cases in Russia when the government sent people to jail because of private photos or chat messages on their social media accounts. All in all, the risks of sharing excessive personal information on social media are real. Although it can be less significant in a safe democratic country, I believe it still makes sense to review what can be shared and what can't thoughtfully.