The planet's population is reaching unsustainable levels, and people are facing shortage of resources like water, food and fuel. To what consequences may overpopulation lead? In your opinion, what measures can be taken to fight overpopulation?

It is generally suggested that the population rate has been increasing at an exponential rate, in recent times. This could lead to a multitude of adverse effects that might affect humans in all aspects of life, to prevent further detriments, certain measures should be taken both at the individual and national levels. I will discuss further details in the coming passages. To begin with, the detrimental effects that overpopulation can cause; this trend can adversely affect the economy of a nation. To illustrate further, an increase in the number of people causes a raise in demand and a decrease in supply by the nation. In other words, the government has to spend a huge amount of money on all sectors such as food, water, electricity etcetera to meet the needs. For example, a recent census proved that India's economy is unstable because of the increasing number of masses. In my opinion, I believe that political parties in ruling positions and influential people in society should spread awareness in their country. Specific amendments should be brought by them to involve people in their initiatives. Take for instance, countries like China, which were successful in implementing family planning programs initiated by the government. Therefore, they were able to reduce the growth and now it is one of the major developed nation, generating surplus opportunities for people worldwide. At a personal level, one should make an effort to reduce this trend and act in the best interest of future generations. To conclude, acknowledging the demerits of increasing growth rate and scarcity of resources, one should abide by the regulations set by the nation and work towards progress to make the world a better place to live in for the coming generations.