Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Modern lifestyle has changed drastically over the last twenty years as a result of the extreme popularity of social networks. Though sharing personal photos and videos is great fun, it can be quite dangerous as well. Despite the serious drawbacks of using social media, in my,opinion there are much more benefits. Surfing on the Internet is definitely a risky activity due to a great number of impostors who have the necessary skills and technology to steal personal information such as passwords or credit card numbers. Social media is a perfect platform for digital crimes. For example, an individual that is sharing his pictures from the airport heading on vacation exposes lots of facts about himself which can attract criminals. The burglar that has followed him on Facebook or Instagram and has his address, which is easy to find if the user doesn't turn the geolocation function off on his device, knows that this is a perfect moment to break into his house. Another issue that must concern social media users is children's safety. Posting the kid's photographs, pinning locations and sharing plans could be perfect instruction for kidnappers. In spite of the fact that posting information on the Internet can be extremely dangerous, there are ways to protect oneself such as hiding geolocation or carefully choosing which picture to share. In return one can get numerous advantages from social networks as they are a great source of information in lots of spheres: you can be a part of any community you like, keep in touch with your friends and relatives, buy and sell things, read the latest news, or learn about the courses that will help you to grow professionally. To sum up, I strongly believe that the pros of social media outnumber its cons and if the person knows how to use it wisely he can undoubtedly succeed and benefit from it.