Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is widely acknowledged that compared to seeking a job, attaining tertiary education, such as a bachelor’s degree and a postgraduate certificate after high school, is the most crucial factor driving success. Even though the benefits of immediate-start jobs are undeniable, I strongly agree that everyone should consider enrolling in universities or colleges to have the best preparation for their future. On the one hand, many young people prefer working rather than continuing to study due to several employment advantages. Specifically, getting a job is a comprehensive way to help people gain hands-on experience, significantly boosting their confidence and independence. For example, making coffee, cleaning, and delivering are popular jobs attracting thousands of youngsters with restricted skills to apply. These careers provide young adults with opportunities to socialise and expand their networks, which are notably helpful in building up essential soft skills, for instance: communication, time management and leadership. Moreover, being employed positively contributes to financial stability, enabling young people to afford necessities such as accommodation and food. On the other hand, I believe that tertiary education is more beneficial for students due to the importance of university degrees in today’s modern world. Higher levels of learning offer a wide range of theoretical and practical knowledge, which are necessary and valuable for some specific professionals. For instance, it is compulsory to have an academic qualification when working as a lawyer, a doctor and a teacher. Additionally, unlike those with a lower level of education attainment, university graduates often receive a higher chance to access a variety of high-paid jobs with further development. An ordinary worker cannot be a restaurant manager without a relevant degree because the position requires a profound understanding of this field, like awareness of nutrition and health and first aids skills, which may only be accomplished at tertiary levels. In conclusion, people should contemplate opting for higher education due to various positives that make them a better future.