Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been a matter of debate whether single-sex schools provide better benefits or mixed schools. Some people claim that single-sex schools students are good at academics,, however some many argue that mixed school students are more sociable leads to better social life. On the one hand, there are lesser distractions in single-sex schools which helps the students to focus on their academics. In addition, these students are always free to meet their opposite-gender friends after school anytime. This means that they have the opportunity to enhance their social skill. Even so, single-sex schools do not guarantee better academic performance and skills. On the contrary, mixed schools are believed to provide better social skills since all the activities are carried out with the motive of equal involvement of both genders and also respect for the opposite gender. Furthermore, the students get to know the sense of inclusiveness of both genders. They can interact with the other gender and help to develop the skill from the early stage. Lastly, mixed schools provide real-life scenarios and help to keep the students in discipline accordingly. To recapitulate, single-sex schools are good to some extent but practically mixed schools are better at making students sociable and the performance of the students depends on the ability of students and the skill of teachers rather than the nature of schools. All in all, in my opinion, students should go to mixed schools for overall skills and development rather than single-sex schools.