Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today we see a growing number of colleges have started to adopt a remote learning style and allow students to apply for online courses in demand. Personally, I would like to subscribe to the view that there remain advantages of attending college on-site that outstand online learning. Admittedly, there are some reasons for the prevalence of online learning styles in universities. Among all of them, the convenience of this novel way of learning fits college students’ needs for time management. Since, now they do not need to factor in travel time, thus sparing more time attending internships beyond registered university courses, which are beneficial to their future careers. However, I believe that on-site university courses prevail the remote ones in several aspects. Firstly, not only academic results people who attend university are aiming for but also the need to develop interpersonal skills and be prepared when they head into the world of work. By contrast, distance courses lack social components, given that people can only communicate through the internet. In addition, remote learning is absent the opportunities for students to have personal contact with their professors. On the contrary, they book a time slot for a face-to-face conversation with world-leading professionals when visiting campus physically, plus receiving direct feedback from them during visits. Furthermore, many science majors like engineering often require massive technical training that cannot be accomplished online, where students need to perform a multitude of tasks in a team under the teacher's supervision and assistance. In conclusion, though the trend of shifting to remote learning is firm and irreversible in universities, I would like to argue that it will not entirely replace the traditional learning style for its shortcomings.