Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days many individuals are turning towards unconventional medicine rather than modern one because of cheap and easy availability. I believe that this is a negative approach as it could lead to harmful effects on the human body. Firstly, these conventional medications cause short-term or symptomatic benefits rather than full cures. moreover, extensive research hasn’t been done on this mode of medication. For example, homoeopathic medicines are very useful for the treatment of arthritis but unfortunately due to limited research and only symptomatic, cures these haven’t gained much popularity. Secondly, there are various harmful ingredients used in such medicines which causes deleterious effect on vital organs like the liver and kidney which could add further burden on the health sector of the nation. In addition to this, some of the items used to prepare these medication cause hypersensitivity reactions. for instance, certain substances used in ayurvedic medicine derange the liver function which may lead to organ failure and death. In conclusion, one should cautiously use such items as ayurvedic or homoeopathic remedies. it is better to visit a specialist doctor initially for treatment and diagnostic tests so that the disease can be treated in the best possible manner.