In some cultures, childrens are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Surviving in modern society has become more challenging and competitive, especially with young ones who have to compete for optimal academic results and constantly learn new soft skills. To encourage children to overcome these obstacles, many parents instil in impressionable minds the belief that nothing is impossible with enough effort. Although this perception is beneficial in motivating, it can leave negative mental impacts without careful handling. One of the most highlighted benefits is that the message is a source of motivation. Children’s journeys in the modern world have become highly extreme as not only do they have to complete more complex and sophisticated tasks in academic settings, but they are also required to be equipped with numerous soft skills. These journeys can create tensions and even exhaust many in the process. A powerful message emphasising the importance of efforts can empower them at the right time and give them the strength to conquer any obstacles. In contrast, the downside of this perception is the mental deterioration that a child may suffer. When this ostensibly liberating and beautiful idea is exaggerated, failure can be perceived as laziness and a lack of talents rather than misfortune or accidents. Asian countries such as China and Vietnam are great examples of children receiving contempt instead of compassion, being under peer pressure, and, worst case, becoming evidence of damnation if they fail. All of these can accumulate and damage mentality and ruin their childhood, forcing children to study harder in a miserable way. In conclusion, while the idea that efforts are equal to happiness and success is beautiful and inspirational, there are possibly invisible social and mental impacts when the idea strays from its original intention. Hence, parents and teachers need to be cautious when implanting this philosophy.