In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping malls or centres to do their shopping. Does this have a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, Urbanization has led to the growth of shopping centres in almost every country. This trend had a significant impact on the local stores, but I do believe that this is a positive sign of development. I will discuss further in detail in the coming passages. To begin with, shopping complexes have a wide spectrum of options for all age groups, where people can make a choice within a limited time frame. For example, In Dubai, there are more than 400 stores in the Emirates mall and most people visit there for shopping compared to stores on the street. Secondly, these malls make the shopping experience a better one, as there are many recreational activities.Take for instance,moms can engage their children in some play areas while shopping. Finally, these centres are located in the centre of the city making accessibility easy for all groups of people and they run sales quite often to allure customers for special occasions. For example, during Christmas, we see there will be huge lineups in malls for boxing day and for thanksgiving. Alternatively, these new developments did impact the local businesses to a certain extent in the cities but not in the remote areas. Few people still prefer to shop for outfits related to their culture in certain local stores. For example, in Hyderabad people prefer shopping in Charminar for their weddings even though there are many centres in the city. In conclusion, shopping is completely a subjective experience, though malls have drawn a large number of customers, and traditional stores did incur losses. However, I do believe that this is fairly a positive experience as it makes shopping a good experience.