Many young people today spend too much time following the latest fashion trends in areas such as clothing and technology. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

The younger generation nowadays tends to spend too much time following the trends in clothing and technology. Today, I will discuss the reason why people spend more time on the newest things and then, I will further elaborate on the benefits for society to be up to date. To begin with, some may argue that society tends to spend waste a lot of its time keeping up with the newest trends and news. The reason why people have this belief is that people tend to set the standards of life based on the opinions of the majority of the population. More than often, it is easier to blend in with the majority rather than be outcasted. For example, although the world is facing a financial recession, people still continue to purchase the newest iPhone released. On the other hand, one of the greatest advantages for millennials to being trendy is that this prevents them from falling behind in the future. Currently, things around the world change quite often, so it is important for people to have the capability to quickly adapt to new changes. As an example, COVID-19 had changed the world's ways of doing things. However, the younger generation has knowledge of the newest technology and this allows them to accept the QR code scanning process very quickly. To conclude, although when people spend too much time following the trend has the disadvantage of setting the standard. Moreover, I strongly that when people following the trends will help them to adapt to situations quickly and it is one of the biggest advantages that outweighs the disadvantages.