Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people propose that the ultimate method of making the general public healthier is to build more places where they play sports, while others believe this initiative is futile and other policies are warranted. In this answer, I will discuss the rationales behind these two views before showing why I favor the latter. To meaningfully improve the health of the public, it must be acknowledged that fitness is only part of the equation. A whole host of factors, including affordable access to healthcare advancement of medical treatment, enforcement of food safety and so on, all influence how healthy the population is and must be acted on. The recent outbreak of the novel Coronavirus is a powerful testament to this and how immaterial fitness is in the grand scheme of things On the one hand, increasing the availability of sports amenities could somewhat help improve public health. A crucial part of staying healthy is staying physically active. and making it easier for people to play sports is a good measure to this end. Furthermore, the greater presence of basketball courts, callisthenics parks or other such amenities and, more importantly, the sight of people using them could inspire sedentary onlookers to exercise more. In conclusion, having more places where people can participate in sporting activities is always welcome, but it is not by any stretch the optimal way to improve public health. Instead, a combination of steps is needed to holistically enhance people's health and prevent diseases.