Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Our environment consists of land, air, water, animals and plants. There are many natural and man-made problems which endanger our environment. However, some believe that extinction of plant and animal species have a major effect on nature while others believe that it is not. All living creatures have their own purpose and effects on earth. The importance of some species we already have discovered while others we are yet to find. And loss of any of these living species will have their effect on earth which can be either negative or positive first for example, disappearance of carnivores from a forest will lead to birth of large amounts of non carnivores. This will lead to instability of the forest habitats. Moreover, loss of certain types of plants means that we might be losing an important source of medicine. While loss of living things are becoming an issue to nature, some believe that there are worse problems than that which people need to concentrate on. One important such issue is the global warming. This is entirely a man-made problem, which in turn will affect all plants and animals and also the land. In addition, air land and water pollution from factories and vehicles also has major effects on earth in a negative manner. Therefore, in my opinion, I believe that there are more important environmental problems that we need to work on than extinction of plants and animals.