Some people think that strick punishment for driving offences are key to reducing traffic accidents. Others however believe that other measures would improve road safety. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a wide array of driving offences, from distracted driving to being under the influence, causing accidents. Some believe the solution to those is to have strict punishment while some believe that there are other methods to tackle the issue. In this essay, I will discuss argue that using different measures is preferable to the enforcement of the law. To begin, harsh punishments for driving felonies can lower traffic accidents by getting dangerous drivers off the streets. Driving is a privilege and should not be taken for granted, therefore, having those suspended would deter people from doing offences. In addition, it could reduce the amount of recidivist committing similar crimes over again. For example, having jail time for driving under the influence at the first offence rather than after multiple ones would remind that driver not to do it again. However, other tactics can be implemented to improve the safety of our streets. One of them is to increase police presence. Doing so would deter careless drivers to commit a crime behind the wheel. For instance, people tend to drive the speed limit and put their phones away when they see a patrol car nearby. Furthermore, the use of an awareness campaign would show people the reasons for being conscious and safe drivers, plus the consequences of being a reckless one. Seeing the aftermath of a car accident due to impaired driving would make someone think twice before replicating the same behaviour. To conclude, having other measures in place such as having more law enforcement personnel patrolling and making people aware of the dangers of reckless driving are only a few methods that I believe would make our roads safer.