Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctors. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years the development of medicine has brought controversial results. An increasing number of people have started to doubt the efficiency of this traditional field and started to address alternative medicine. I consider this tendency to be detrimental to people’s health and this essay will provide arguments and examples supporting this view. To start with, only formally qualified medics possess relevant expertise to diagnose and treat any disease, ranging from minor cases like influenza and allergies to more major ones like oncological diseases, conduct operations and provide essential rehabilitation. Furthermore, the mainstream methods that professionals rely on have trustworthy scientific evidence supporting their efficiency, the most imporant being the fact of having millions of saved lives. Finally, continuous and profound research in medicine allows medics to enhance their knowledge and understanding of different illnesses and create more and efficient remedies for them. Some may argue that alternative medicine has its advantages. For instance, homeotherapy practitioners use diluted substances and plants and herbs to cure patients suffering from a wide range of illnesses including asthma and psychological conditions like a depression. However, the results of their treatment have not been scientifically proved, therefore, their effectiveness is highly doubtful. Another and more reliable example is acupuncture. Its history dates back to 3000 years and it is still widely used in China, and according to some supporters needles stimulate the nervous system and may help with certain pains. Nevertheless, similarly to homeotherapy, this method lacks any widely acknowledged positive results. Finally, not everyone practicing alternative medicine is fully qualified to provide relevant help. As a result, th me self-claimed doctors may harm patients instead of helping them. To conclude, regardless of certain advantages that non-traditional medicine may have, patients should refrain themselves from addressing alternative doctors and in case of any diseases, address only qualified staff in hospitals.