Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems.

With the drastic aggravation of environmental pollution, people are more concerned about their well-being and healthy lives. Some people argue that the government have to focus on spending more money on fixing social problems such as housing shortage, whereas others insist that the solution is nothing to do with the government. The aim of this essay is to explore both opinions and elucidate my view in the following paragraphs. First of all, the purpose of the existence of government is to protect and provide a safe and clean environment. However, due to alarming levels of pollution, people are suffering from a lot of illnesses such as respiratory and cardiovascular diseases. Besides, as many people are living in unhygienic conditions, they are exposed to infectious diseases. It is not easy to eradicate all these illnesses as a huge amount of money and specialists are needed. This is the reason why the government and official institutes should pay more attention to our living conditions and provide proper solutions. On the other hand, there are limitations of government provision and intervention, therefore each of us has to make efforts as much as possible. For example, the crucial reason for pollution is not because of the government's policy but of our behaviour of wasting habits. Thus, the essential solution is that we have to change our lifestyles such as using public transportation, carrying our own mugs and not utilizing disposable containers etc. Besides, we all have to clean our houses so that we can keep away from germs and it will lead to making ourselves healthy. To sum up, we are facing very miserable situations due to environmental destruction and poor housing conditions. Furthermore, these problems could have severe impacts on our health and ultimately we might suffer from a lot of pandemic diseases. The government should aware of these urgent issues and we have to work together to make our lives better.