Many companies sponsor sports to advertise their products or service. What advantages and disadvantages does this bring for the teams and individuals that these companies sponsor?

Nowadays,many companies advertise their products by sponsoring a sports team. Such a trend has pulled criticism towards the teams for promoting unaccepted products by the public,along with its benefits such as productive consumption of funds and financial support to the players. On the one hand,promoting a product that is disliked,attracts condemnation from the public. For instance,during the recent FIFA world cup held in Qatar, teams that had a liquor tag on their team shirts, faced disapproval from the local Muslim community. Hence,things that are not welcomed by the people,cause criticism on the teams that promote them too. On the other hand, the advantages of sponsoring players include productive spending and financial support them. Firstly,firms have to pay large sums to display their adverts on signboards and media,which is not benefitting anyone other than them.While,if this money is spent on teams, then it benefits both the teams that promote them as well as the company so,the fund is utilized productively. Secondly,players need money for their training,coaches,stadiums,and many other expenditures and by getting a financer,they get the financial support. For example,in Pakistan, even the squash world champion is facing financial hardships due to a lack of sponsors while the Indian semi-finalist is getting all that support from the firms and so is able to compete at every major competition. To conclude,advertising the wrong product pulls condemnation from the public. Nonetheless,if the right financers are chosen then the advantages of financial support and rightful spending greatly outweigh the disadvantages.