Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

English is considered one of the most spoken languages in the world. The English language is given great importance at school, thus at a very young age children are being taught this language. English is also a language at can be grasped very easily. Many believe that the younger generation is getting more attracted to English, forgetting their own language. However, is English that important? Nowadays, the use of the English language has become extremely handy for many people. English acts as a means of communication between countries to communicate with each other. Hence, when children learn English, this will increase their opportunity to go to study or work abroad in the future. For instance, they will be able to join multinational companies where several companies from different countries work together as one. Students will get easy admission to universities abroad if they speak and write English fluently. This increases their chances of getting a job abroad as well. Moreover, for individuals who like to travel to various countries, it is important for them to know English as they will be able to communicate with foreigners and learn more about foreign cultures and traditions. Nevertheless, that does not mean that we should forget our mother tongue. It is vital to sustain them,especially for future generations. There are many ways to ensure our local languages remain intact. That is teaching them at local schools, proving free sessions at local communities where everyone can get the chance to learn and enhance their local language and amongst others. To conclude, it is true that due to modernization, English is becoming a fast-learning language around the world, but local languages should also not be ignored as they constitute a part of our identity.