The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

During the last decades, it has become evident how every day more and more people all around the world share their taste in fashion and aesthetics in any kind of good of consumption. However, while it is known that human beings develop by copying other people it is also true that mass media have had an impact on our current behaviour and elections. I will explain my thoughts on this topic below. First of all, human beings’ development in the first stages is based on repetition. Namely, children learn by imitating their parents' or caregivers’ behaviours. For instance, the first words of any baby are learnt because his parents have repeated them constantly until the baby can say them by himself. The same situation occurs with eating as some studies have demonstrated. On the other hand, mass media and communications in the globalization era make people more susceptible to being influenced by the fashion industry. Nowadays it is quite common to see on the internet people from different cultures wearing similar clothes or decorating their homes with the same type of furniture. As a matter of fact, brands have colonized social media and other communications means with ads that shape the way people consume. In conclusion, people learn their first words and behaviours based on repeating them from their parents and caregivers’, nevertheless in my opinion mass media and the fashion industry have shaped the tastes, beliefs and habits of consumers all over the world and as a result, people are copying one another more than ever before.