Few people say that at all levels of education from primary school to university, too much time is spent on learning facts and no enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, it has been vastly observed that theoretical knowledge is emphasized more than vocational training at all educational levels. I completely accord with the notion and will discuss it extensively in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence, there are myriad reasons why more emphasis is given to acquiring theory and the preponderant one is that it assists in choosing the right career path. To expound, schools teach numerous subjects to students to help them in generating their area of interest by exploring vast options, resulting which, children being able to select the best career path for themselves. For example, in India, till high school, students are taught the basics of all the subject areas, and during the secondary level, pupils pursue courses of their interest. Hence, the aforementioned reasons elucidate why theoretical knowledge is preferred to skill training. Additionally, the second reason behind my agreement is the higher weightage to the theoretical part during interviews. To explain, in all types of interviews, candidates are questioned more about the theory of subject area by pundits. Also, these subject matter experts seek a complete understanding of facts before hands-on, consequently, in class, training is provided before hiring for on-field work. For instance, in the marketing field, the new hires are provided with classroom knowledge before launching them into the market. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates how the trend has been proven advantageous. To conclude, the main reasons for focusing more on facts learning are the benefits of choosing a career line and its significance in securing the job. In my view, the theory sets a base on any skill, so it is significant to introduce the facts before acquiring the required skill set.