Some people think that in countries with high unemployment, the retirement age should be lowered to allow more young people to get jobs. What would be the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Nowadays, the high unemployment rate is founded in some countries. Because of this, some individuals believe that more young people will receive job offers if the retirement age should be lowered. This essay will examine both benefits and drawbacks of this controversial issue. On the one hand, there are some advantages of early retirement for senior employees. Firstly, many job positions will be available for younger people. As a result, some younger employees might get promoted to higher positions as replacements for senior individuals who already left the companies. Secondly, those older citizens who are retired early would have more chances to relax and do something else after they have worked hard for their whole life such as gardening, crafting and spending time with families and pets. On the other hand, the drawbacks of early retirement might also be founded. To begin with, it is an undeniable truth that many management positions in both private corporations and government organisations, such as CEO, board of directors, president and minister, usually are filled with senior people because those jobs require extensive working experience. If we lower the retirement age, some organisations will lose their valuable human resources which cannot recruit young people to replace them. Moreover, there are many alternative solutions to solve the unemployment rate. For example, the government should issue tax subsidize campaigns for unemployed people who want to set up their own businesses. Also, the government should provide various types of training such as cooking, basic finance and accounting, and basic programming to those who cannot find jobs so they can have more skills that are suitable for market requirements. To conclude, allowing young people to get jobs by lowering the retirement age is believed to bring about benefits in solving the unemployment situation. However, it is undeniable that some positions cannot be replaced by younger individuals. Thus, alternative methods should be implemented to increase the employment rate in countries.