Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop childrens' life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do ypu agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is a tendency which implies the superiority of active occupations over reading in the sense of better influence on a child’s character. Personally, I am inclined to believe that there should not be a strong distinction between these two determinations, as they both are necessary and play an essential role in formation of a young personality. Regarding the activities, among which are different sports, both indoor and outdoor ones, and extra classes, for example chess, music or art, they all possess a certain set of qualities which cultivate in children particular traits. These features are essential for socialization and adaptation in the world. For instance, undertaking such sport as tennis helps to train an important analytical way of thinking, by anticipating the possible strategy of calculating the trajectory of hitting the ball in such a way that the opponent is exhausted and misses it. What is more, any type of sport cultivates willpower in children, which teaches them not to give up and use all the strength for aspiring the final goal. As for spending time on reading, it is also one of the crucial aspects of life, which takes part in balanced development. Not only is a child physically good educated, but also has a wide outlook. Reading scientific articles and student books helps to perceive and analyze new information, accumulate knowledge, and broaden the field of interests. Belletristic, fiction and magazines facilitate the creative, out of the box way of thinking. An erudite person is able to maintain a dialogue on any topic and find an approach to any person, as well as way out of any possible situation. To conclude, there is a broad array of life skills and their advancement requires different methods. Thus, it is a multifaceted process which considers active occupations, as well as mental ones.