Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music has always played an important role in our leisure time. Some believe it is of vital importance in connecting people of different backgrounds together. I partially agree with this viewpoint. To begin with, music, being the universal language, makes people resonate regardless of race, age, gender and culture. In other words, in certain cases, it can overcome language barriers and inspire similar feelings among human beings, hence achieving mutual understanding among different groups. Take me for example. As a bilingual student, music is not only an indispensable part of my entertainment, but also a powerful tool for me to learn about other cultures. To be specific, listening to English songs helps me with my language learning, sometimes in a more effective way than textbooks. However, on the other hand, the power of music to go beyond physical and cultural boundaries should not be exaggerated. Except for masterpieces by great musicians, the majority of musical work can only cater to a certain minority group, which has nothing to do with nationalities, races or age. For instance, even the loudest and most annoying musical genre can find its hardcore fans. And even the most successful piece could be disliked. In fact, that is where its charm lies. It is an art form that can only be enjoyed instead of being defined. To conclude, there is no doubt that music could unite people of similar interests and tastes together. But its either soothing or uplifting effects can be temporary and only limited to the spiritual level. Therefore, in my view, we should take a balanced stance and not see it as the last resort to conflicts and differences.