Some modern artists receive huge sums of money for the things they create, while others struggle to survive. Governments should take steps to resolve this unfair situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that governments should support some artists who have no opportunities to make money for their artwork. Personally, I agree with this notion that giving more chances and fair situations to artists allows more people to take part in art markets and eventually foster the arts economy. Firstly, it would help customers buy cheaper but better artwork. When a market has more people join, it can cause fierce competition, leading to better products being produced and also cheaper. Take, for example, if one day there’s only one store in the world, that means all customers can buy things there, the store’s owner, therefore, would not have the motivation to improve their products, leading to a stagnant market. Secondly, more artists join to the art markets can increase job opportunities and boost the economy. In other words, the more diverse art creations are made and traded in the markets, the more possibility the art industry can flourish. Hollywood movies can illustrate this point, the more movie stories are created, the more diverse audiences can be amused and willing to buy a ticket to the theatre, then the profit can be used to film a better movie and hire more employments, and the positive circle continues, resulting in the industry thrives. In conclusion, governments should take responsibility for allocating resources to ensure all citizens have equally competitive opportunities. In this way, more people can have job security and also improve the market growth.