Some Countries have implemented mandatory community programs for young people. In these programs, children aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people or work with animals. What are some advantages and disadvantages for this for young people?

Doing charity is not only fruitful to the doer but also to the receiver as well. Some nations organise mandatory welfare programs for adolescents in which they work with animals and the elderly. In this essay, I will outline what I considered to be potential advantages of such a program as well as demerits that are likely to occur. In the terms of benefits to young people, there are two clear ones. The first one is personal development. Taking care of those in need always gives a sense of satisfaction. Helping and interacting with members of the community undoubtedly helps teenagers to become more compassionate and mature as they bond and learn. Even though they did not volunteer, still they would feel a sense of responsibility. Another less altruistic advantage is the work experience they gain through this program. In future, when they apply for jobs, this type of work experience would be beneficial for their CV. For instance, in some places, people between the age group of 14 to 18 tend to volunteer just to show something on their resume, when they want to work after high school. There are, however, some possible drawbacks to compulsory charity programs. Firstly, youngsters might resent being forced to engage. Participants should not be compelled to do these kinds of. If they chose to, only then, they feel more relief and fulfilment. When it is mandatory though, arrangements like this might not impact the desired effect. Secondly, We can not avoid inevitable situations like illness or death when taking care of animals or the elderly. In this case, without any adequate training, the experience may induce stress and anxiety in young minds. This may have a long-lasting effect on them. In conclusion, I would like to say, Although helping the community is a worthwhile goal, making this kind of work compulsory can be counterproductive. For maximum outcomes, I think it will valuable if they volunteered rather than being forced.