In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people. Is it a positive or negative development?

I believe it is a negative development. In my opinion, a higher ratio of elder communities could cause a negative effect on society. I am going to state the drawbacks in this essay. Firstly, the increase of older people in society could cause a lack of workforce. For example, if the country is in an ageing society, the community could lose energy and innovation. Thus, the youngsters could lose interest in this community and be more willing to move to a better place. If most youth people are not live in this nation anymore, it could cause a shortage of workforce as elderly individuals are unable to work. Secondly, since the younger people are migrating to other regions, the government could face an economic problem. For instance, in the ageing society, the authority needs to use a substantial amount of budget to support the medical institutions and pensions for the ageing communities. Besides, elderly individuals are impossible to make income as most of them are retired, which leads the government officials could not collect taxes from them. Thus, the country is facing a trend that subsidizing money to people but without any tax income. Therefore, the economy of society is not flowing. In conclusion, the increase in the elder population in a country could result in a negative influence on the whole society. Economic would not be flowing and moving and the government has to face financial loss. Thus, the life quality of the population would accordingly decrease which would affect the next generation.