These days, too many people maintain their health by relying on doctors and medicine,rather than by following a healthy lifestyle. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent times, the need to take care of one's health is an issue all over the world. Nowadays, it is believed by some that trusting on physicians and medicine to keep people healthy is a better choice than pursuing a healthy lifestyle. It is undoubtedly true, through science of medicine people would have to spend more money, consumed too many medicinal drugs, and wait until they get ill in order to have their health back. Firstly, people, of course, need to cost huge sum of money so that they can find a medical way to whether ease their pain or treat their sickness. For instance, a patient has to obviously look for expensive drugs to find a remedy for the physical or mental discomfort. As a result, much more money will be spent to alleviate one’s health. Secondly, using tablets is a double-edged sword. Although using them might be beneficial in some circumstances, it may also have irreversible side effects on humans’ body. For example, a study on long-term pain management found that alternatives to drug therapy, such as cognitive behavioral therapy and activity coaching are as effective of managing pain as meds and probably better at improving functionality without the side effects an risks of medications. Consequently, by eating too many drugs, people will put their health into a potential danger. Lastly, awaiting for a health problem to come might cost a person’s life. Take diabetic people, for example, they are more inclined to vicious symptoms like confusion and even coma if they wait until the last minutes to overcome the problem. Therefore, the sooner they deal with the illness the better outcome will be achieved. To sum up, people will lose huge sum of money, allocates too many medications, and more importantly lose their health in general. So, it is in my opinion that having a healthy lifestyle would benefit the people more than that of relying on medicine and doctors.