In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many commercial products usually promote the concept of "New" in their advertising. This essay will explain the reasons why many businesses apply this trend. In my viewpoint, this measure has a negative impact on consumers and I will explain it in detail in the ensuing paragraph. First of all, it is an undeniable truth that the main reasons why businesses always use "new concepts" as their communication in advertising are to capture the needs of customers and improve their brand images to be fashionable. Firstly, the consumers are humans and human nature behaviours love to explore new products. Then they start to be bored when there is no change in the products that they are currently using and they will start to search for a new one. In order to beat the competitors, every business need to adapt and prepare new things all the time, for example, launching new models, offering new services, refreshing new promotion and even rebranding themselves. Thus, there are many new products or concepts in consumer advertising to promote. However, I argue that this strategy to emphasise new products all the time can cause a negative impact as it can create fake demand to end customers. First of all, sometimes many businesses promote minor changes in products as new product development in many media. For example, some mobile companies launched their new smartphone series with a few changes in colour and size and little improvement in camera capacity as new models. To conclude, the main reason why businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way is to attract consumers' demands. From my perspective, I am strongly against this concept as it has a negative impact to create fake demand in the market as I mentioned in the above paragraph.