Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, the need to use social media platforms is an issue all over the world. Nowadays, it is no longer clear what effects spending time online using these sites, such as Facebook or Twitter have on people as there are those who think that they have more negative impact on young people ’s relationships while others argue that more benefits are provided when people use them. To begin with, those who state that social media sites carry more negative influence say so for several reasons. Firstly, since the young might not be able to communicate properly with their peers in real world, they rely on online websites and applications to meet their communicative needs; for example, an introverted boy would probably prefer to meet a girl for the first time on the Internet than face-to-face. Secondly, if young people spend too much of their invaluable time on those media, they may put their physical health at risk, resulting in sedentary lifestyle which could lead to diseases, such as obesity, diabetes, and high blood pressure. Despite this view, there are those who think that using these sites bring more benefits to people ’s lives. First of all, in order to get to know different people and cultures, people may be more inclined to spend some quality time online, becoming familiar with all types of people worldwide. Moreover, they can keep in touch with their old friends, whom have not contacted for so long; for instance, one can chat with a childhood friend sharing sweet memories and talk about their interests on a regular basis. In conclusion, while allocating social media platforms can have drawbacks, it could also have many positive influences. Therefore, it is my opinion that people may be able to benefit from online websites and applications by strengthening their bond with their acquaintances and also strangers from all over the world.